Dotable - the home of "No worries" hosting!  
 
Home About Products F.A.Q Network Status Affiliates Support Contact Search Terms
Welcome to Dotable. Dotable currently hosts more than 15,000 domains for clients in all corners of the globe, so we must be doing something right! Dotable is all about people, and without people Dotable would not be where it is today. We value our clients and work hard with them and for them, so they can achieve their online goals. Our client's success is our success. Dotable's staff has more than 40 years of combined experience in hosting. Our products range from single domain hosting, through to fully managed dedicated servers. We invite you to inspect our products from the links below. We're here to serve you so sing out if you need anything. Welcome to Dotable!
Host one domain Multiple domains Reseller accounts VPS accounts Dedicated servers Register domains Backup space
Go Back   Dotable - Dot your Domains > Dotable Support Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 19th November 2008, 03:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Saturn
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 401
Default Wierd email regarding a domain

I just got this email:

Dear CEO,

We , a registrar organization in China, have something to check with you. We received an application on Nov. 18, One Japan company called " Melte Investment Co. LTD " is applying for "yourdomain" as internet brand and following Asian/.CN domain names to use.

yourdomain.asia
yourdomain.com.hk
yourdomain.com.tw
yourdomain.hk
yourdomain.net.cn
yourdomain.org.cn
yourdomain.tw

After our initial checking, we found the internet brand and keyword of these domain names are as same as your company's, so we need to check this with your company. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 7 workdays. If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by " Melte Investment Co. LTD ". Thank you very much for your cooperation.

Best Regards

Edan Cui (Mr.)
Lead Checker
Shanghai XD pubilic Domain Solutions LTD

yourdomain - is my domain and I removed their address and url

Do you think its a scam to make me buy all the domains listed... or should I contact them?
agua is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2008, 03:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired Dotable Founder
 
Aussie Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Land down under
Posts: 4,085
Default

Looks like spam to me. Just trying to get you to panic buy some domains.
Aussie Bob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2008, 04:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Saturn
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 401
Default

reading again... I think so too - thanks Bob
agua is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2008, 04:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired Dotable Founder
 
Aussie Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Land down under
Posts: 4,085
Default

Yep, seems like it for sure.
Aussie Bob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2008, 04:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Dotable Staff Member
 
Dotable Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 410
Default

I've received a number of these. I think it's a spam attempt at getting you to register the TLDs.

I could be wrong though - I'm not 100% sure.
__________________
We work hard to provide you the best possible service. Please return the favor by spreading the word and review Dotable!

Review sites we trust: HostJury.com WebHostingStuff.com
Dotable Nick is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2008, 04:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired Dotable Founder
 
Aussie Bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Land down under
Posts: 4,085
Default

I get the snail mails saying your domain is about to expire and I can reregister it when them. This fools lots of folks not so tech savvey about their domain.
Aussie Bob is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2008, 03:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Smiling can be Infectious
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aussie Bob View Post
I get the snail mails saying your domain is about to expire and I can reregister it when them. This fools lots of folks not so tech savvey about their domain.
I agree with that last bit Aussie Bob.
I have had 3x Customers Pay the "Renewal" with another this year alone.
Then I get a transfer request of cause, I contact the Customer, then the fun starts

And agree Aqua, definately spam emails trying to sucker you into names you would not get (normally)


Brad
Brad is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On




Go Back   Dotable - Dot your Domains > Dotable Support Forum


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 06:42 AM.


Home About Products F.A.Q Network Status Affiliates Support Contact Search Terms

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
LinkBacks Enabled by vBSEO 3.1.0
©2009 Dotable. Part of the UK2 Group.